Mercies by Suffering

Standard

Today I have been sick in bed. I don’t have the worst cold, but it’s enough to make me pretty tired and not want to do anything other than rest.  A lot of times I, like most people, feel getting sick is some type of setback that keeps me from being productive and gets me behind in things that need getting done.

Islamically, we believe that everything we suffer, no matter how great or small, is for our ultimate benefit. According to hadith:

 No calamity befalls a Muslim but that Allah expiates some of his sins because of it, even though it were the prick he receives from a thorn. (Bukhari)

The believing man or woman continues to have affliction in person, property and children so that they may finally meet Allah, free from sin. (Tirmidhi)

Even though I’ve accomplished nothing (dunya wise) today because of my little cold, I still believe I was raised in spiritual status because of my affliction.  I am thinking about all of the blessings that came about because of today:

1. I did get a chance to rest in a way my body and mind needed, since the previous days had been unusually busy with my husband’s absence.

2. I may have been forgiven for some sins I might not have been aware of.

3. I recognize that I am not as sick as some of the people I work with at my job, who suffer from severe chronic pain, cancer, lupus, multiple sclerosis, and other diseases. Alhamdullilah.

4. The fatigue of my illness kept my fitna at bay. Alhamdullilah.

5. I was again faced with the reality that nothing in this life is permanent, whatever doesn’t get done or does get done or what happens to me or my body is just a nominal feature in the divine scheme.  What really matters is remembering that Allah is truly in control and all things happen according to His wisdom. SubhanAllah.

So was today a good day? Definitely.  Even though the laundry didn’t get done and the dishes are still in the sink, I had the opportunity to spend some time talking with a dear friend via email, enjoy my husband’s caretaking and company after spending the last few days apart, and regroup my mind to think about the truly important things in life before a new work week starts tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

